Unshakable Bonds?

I was sitting with a friend and chatting with him about the resignation letter he put today, just after lunch. Had a cup of coffee on the table. I observe that there’s continuous shaking of the table. That’s when I realized that the chair was shaking too, I asked him “are you shaking your legs?” for which he responded with “No, but someone is surely shaking their legs.” That’s when we realized it was an earthquake. It was too much to ignore. We asked the lady on the other table and she confirmed the weird shaking too.

We got up from our tables and then we see people rushing out of the cafeteria in groups. All headed towards the elevators and staircase. The tremors had ceased by the time we got down the stairs of eight floors. I was jokingly telling my friend that he just put his papers and it made the earth shake, what would happen when he leaves. That’s when we got to know about the 8.9 Richter scale earthquake in Indonesia and about the tremors that have been felt across so many states in India. Within ten minutes the networks were jammed, with people trying to reach their loved ones. Such are the bonds of love and care aren’t they?

The whole incident brought back memories from childhood. My first experience with an earthquake was way back in school ( I am sure that people who are good with dates would still remember the year atleast, but I’ve forgotten it. 😦 ). We were all in class when we it was announced that there was an earthquake and we had to evacuate the building. All kids were rushed to the open grounds adjacent to the school campus. Being kids and it being theΒ only time such Β a thing had happened in Bangalore, we were terrified.

All girls were sobbing and wanted to go back home. Those being the days when kids didn’t carry mobile phone, we couldn’t contact anyone. I vividly remember crying and expressing the wish to meet my sister. When my friends asked why am I not concerned about my parents, I told that they would manage to be fine on their own, but my sis was alone at college. I wondered how she would reach home. I remembered her a million times and prayed and prayed for her to be safe.

We were so close to each other. We would talk about everything. Since the age difference is more, she was always like a second mom, taking care of me and reprimanding me for anything wrong I did, but supporting me at all times. She was and is my savior in a lot of situations. Times and responsibilities have changed. Having a full time job and a prankster at home, she is occupied all the time. We don’t speak for weeks together sometimes. When we do meet up, the tiny tot is the obvious one to get all the attention. Hopefully we get time soon to catch up and act like typical sisters. πŸ˜€

You tell me, what were you upto, when mother earth decided to do a jig?? πŸ˜‰

6 Comments

Filed under Chennai, family, love, memories, nammaBengaluru, sis

6 responses to “Unshakable Bonds?

  1. Mi

    Ohh my… The earthquake sure had a nice significance to the resignation!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    We didn’t feel anything in Pune though.. And I have experienced one 😦 Well, not that I wish to.. πŸ˜€
    But I read about the tremors felt in most parts of India! Good nothing unreasonable happened!

  2. My mother called me up within minutes this all happened. She did not like it when I made fun of her concern 😐 I didn’t even feel a thing. It did not do anything to delhi I guess πŸ™‚

    You have a very special bond with your sister. Its kind of cute, though I do not like the word much. Its quite understandable that her focus is now on the toddler but I guess you can always message her and she will reply when she gets time. I forward funny messages to my college friends all the time- my way of “holding on” πŸ™‚

    • I heard some news reporting parts of Delhi having felt the tremors too.. No wonder your mom was worried.
      Yup sisters are special πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment!

  3. Anu

    πŸ˜€
    I like it!!

Leave a Reply

