Rail Gaadi

I had written this post few days back when I was traveling in the train. Forgot to post it though!

As I sit in the local train on the way to the central station, I realize that it has been two years here, with the constant to and fro between the two cities. Catching the 8.30 or 9 pm local train after office and reaching the Central station, to catch the late night train home. But what I also realize is that I’ve never written a post on my train travel experiences.

The fact of having local trains to commute and having beaches to visit are the few things that I looked forward to when I first came to this city. I envied cities like Chennai and Mumbai for having local trains. 😐 It makes life so easier than the crowded buses. My happiness knew no bounds when the Metro was launched in Bangalore. I am eagerly waiting for the other lines of Metro to be completed. Doesn’t seem like it’s gonna happen anytime soon. 😦

Come to think of it, in these two years I never took the local train to office on a daily basis, thanks to the office being close and the station being far. But in whatever minimal travel I have done, I have had some good experiences. The first day here at Chennai was the day I returned by the last train home. πŸ˜‰ It was around 11.15 or so. After dropping my parents at station where they took a train back home, I went on to meet my roommates who were shopping. Being typical girls they shopped till late night, by the time we finished dinner it was time for the last train! I was a little scared, for it was just the first day. But, that was the only time we ever took it. πŸ™‚

Traveling for nearly 2 hrs every single time to the city, just to a watch movie in the weekend! Phew! Traveling in an almost empty train at 4.30 on a Monday morning, when I’ve come from Bangalore, just wanting to rush home and catch some sleep before I head to office. Traveling in a jam packed train where you are scared that you’ll miss getting down at your station, due to the crowd at the door. Experienced all varieties.

What’s more varied are the kind of people you see or meet. The bunch of young software engineers who have come from different parts of the country to work here, all headed home on a Friday evening. The group of college/school going girls giggling and chattering away. The newly married couple, with lady wearing shining new jewelry. Mothers trying to control theirΒ mischievous children. The vendors who get into the compartments to sell their fruits, vegetables and greens.Β Β All in a hurry to get their work done and go home, tired from the heat and humidity.

The familiar dimming of lights before the two main stations reminds me of a funny comment that a friend made. The comment was, “the dimming of lights rightly indicate the station ahead to the people only when travelling in one direction. In the other direction it’s like telling the people, haha! You missed it..” πŸ˜‰

The struggle to get tickets in tatkal and the huge crowds in the trains and stations always leaves me wondering and asking “where are all these people going?” All in all, it has been fun and it’s one of things I am definitely gonna miss when I move back to Bangalore.

5 Comments

Filed under Chennai, experiences, random

5 responses to “Rail Gaadi

  1. I would have to admit that you have a keen sense of observation.
    I remember studying Doppler Effect back in school- and as you mentioned, it really is the way we take things to be rather than the way they are, that crystallizes our experience πŸ™‚
    I have never been south- but my sister studies in SRM university there and there are so many friends working in Bangalore. But personally, I do not have any idea. Chennai is hot, weather wise :D- that I know for sure. My beloved is a pass out from VIT,so that is another southern connection that I have πŸ™‚ But I would want to see how it is like there.
    Infact I have planned an all India trip in 2014 summers- but plans do not always come true 😦 So lets see.
    I love travelling in trains. In the general coach and many of my writings for TOI came from that experience. Your take is..enlightening, to say the least πŸ™‚ Do write more …

  2. First of all, thank you so much for such an encouraging comment! πŸ™‚
    SRM is close to the place I stay. πŸ™‚ You should visit the south sometime, like you’ve planned (I hope your plans do come true). I have quite a few friends from the north. Many of them told me that the opinion in general is very prejudiced and to some entire south India is just ‘Madras’. I only tell them, visit the place, know the people and then form an opinion. There are a lot of places you can visit and I am sure you’ll like them too. Hope you do enjoy it!
    Would love to read your experiences too. πŸ™‚
    Thanks again! πŸ™‚

    • I was reading up this article on the problems faced by people from north eastern states and the writer talked about the inflexibility in perception that people have. You are right. I should expereince south before having an opinion. I have had some incredible friends from college who hailed from Andhra but then they were few.

      I have always disagreed with Tennyson on “Show me the heart unfettered by foolish dreams /And I’ll show you a happy man”. Plans and dreams are what make us happy πŸ™‚ So, thank you for your wishes…

  3. Anu

    that’s a nice write-up…love the way you’ve captured the myriad experiences with trains you’ve had in Chennai

Leave a Reply

