Blood relations

There are days and then there are days! Yesterday was one such day. I spent first half of the day shopping for my upcoming engagement πŸ˜‰ (You must be thinking what a way to break the news :P) totally ignorant about how the second half of the day would turn out. Having shopped until we could carry no more bags, me and a friend got into an auto to go home. This is when I realized I had forgotten the keys to my house. Since my parents were running about making arrangements for the engagement, they were gonna return only late night and I had to stay at my friend’s place.

During the return, the friend of mine was trying to contact people with O -ve blood group. A colleague of hers needed the blood for his sister. The girl was admitted after being diagnosed with dengue. The platelets count had gone down and they needed a donor. She had a cousin and an aunt who were ready to donate. They went to the hospital, only to hear from the doctor that they need a male donor, above 60kgs. Why couldn’t they have given the same information before? 😑 It would have saved so much effort and time! The effort could have been utilized in the right direction.

When she called me and informed the same. I called up a few other friends and started searching online. I found a link to bharatbloodbank where people who are ready to donate blood register with their information. I could do a search based on State/City/Area. I looked for the nearest area to the hospital in which the girl was. I didn’t have much hope on finding someone and when the first two calls turned out to be non-existent and out-of-service numbers, my hopes went down. The third donor listed was a lady. There was just one more person left in the list.

I am generally very apprehensive about talking to strangers, giving my number at different sites etc, due to certain incidents that have happened previously. The worst one was very recent, with some guy who I assume had got hold of my number when I took a Tata Photon connection and kept calling me continuously, not even letting me make other calls. I had to download an application and block all his calls.Β  But this time, I didn’t hesitate making a call on some strange number. It turned out to be the right person. His name was Mr.Narendra (I think it’s totally worth mentioning :)). He didn’t think twice before agreeing to go to the hospital to make a donation. It was nearly 9 in the night and the person could have easily put his own comfort/priorities over some stranger’ s need. But hats off to him to agree instantly. I was humbled by his selflessness. Thanked him profusely and gave him the details of whom he has to meet.

We still had to wait for the tests, to see if the doctors could take his blood. Luckily, I heard from my friend at around 11 in the night that it was fine and his blood was taken. The girl has been administered with the platelets today morning and has shown improvements. I just pray that everything goes well and she recovers soon.

The only thing I have been thinking from yesterday is, it was so great of the person to agree to a stranger’s request. Such people, make you realize that there is still some humanity left in this world, which otherwise shows only it’s cruel side of selfishness, hatred, deceit and indifference to strangers. We have all been a part of it too, sometime, somewhere…

2 Comments

Filed under experiences, life, stranger

2 responses to “Blood relations

  1. Wow. I am so glad he helped. People like him show that there is still hope. Thank him from my behalf too. πŸ™‚

    And yes, congratulations on the engagement. Wish you the very best.

Leave a comment